Make your own free website on
Marla Roundtree created for a TWU class
A Caldecott Celebration
Home | Picture Books | Traditional Literature | Poetry | Nonfiction | Historical Fiction | Fiction, Fantasy, & YA | Author Study | About Me | Final Project


A Caldecott Celebration Six Artists and Their Paths to the Caldecott Medal by Leonard S. Marcus
Leonard S. Marcus, a children's book historian and critic, takes you on a behind-the-scenes look at how six Caldecott winners created their award winning books.  This book gives us a look at the changes that have impacted illustrators and illustrations for the past sixty years.
Marcus begins our journey with an introduction and explanation of the  Randolph Caldecott and the Caldecott Medal.  The book stops along the way beginning with Robert McCloskey's, the 1942 winner for his lithographic crayon and zinc plates illustrations,  Make Way for Ducklings. The 1955 winner, Marcia Brown, for her gouache, crayon, watercolor, and ink illustrations in Cinderella; or, The Little Glass Slipper. 
 Maurice Sendak won in 1964 for his illustrations of india ink in Where the Wild Things Are.  Sylvester and the Magic Pebble, the 1970 winner by William Steig, was created by using india ink and watercolors.  Chris Van Allsburg won for conte pencil illustrations for Jumanji in 1982.  We end our journey with David Wiesner's Tuesday, the 1992 winner with watercolor illustrations.
A must have book for any librarian, library, or one who loves to create pictures.
Marcus, Leonard S. 1998. Their Paths to A Caldecott Celebration: Six Artists and Their Paths to the Caldecott Medal.  New York: Walker and Company.     ISBN: 0-8027-8656-1.